Testimonials

Overall Rating: 97.19%
Average Rating: 9.72/10
Hi Eddie

I received my order yesterday and want to thank you for all your help, advice and special parts you have given to me (mantel's etc). The Lantern is functioning properly now and all is OK.
Thanks, for all you have done. You have been GREAT.

Your Friend
John
11-21-16
John , Customer
Hi,
This isn't a testimony.
I wanted to point out since kerosene is pretty pricey in places you can go to your local airport and purchase Jet A fuel. Jet A fuel is kerosene granted it is dyed blue because it is an Aviation fuel, but if you bring your own fuel canisters they will sell you as much as you want or need. I use Jet A in all of my kerosene stoves and lanterns without any issues.
Cheers,
Norman
Norman
Hi Eddie,

I am back in the business of chasing darkness away! Installed the new part #10, pressurized and have not seen the pressure gauge move in an hour. Thank you for all your help and the videos. I love my BriteLyt lantern!

David
David, customer
August 30th 2016

Dear Sirs,

After getting off the phone with Coleman regarding how to fix my stove, I have come to really appreciate the help BriteLyt has given me. Coleman wouldn’t give one bit of advice, didn’t have a simple O ring part, and wanted to defer me to their repair department which would cost me money and time that wouldn’t have made keeping the stove worth it.

Thank you for all the help you have given me to run and problem solve my lantern when the pressure gauge was sticking. I can’t imagine getting that kind of help from Coleman.

Sincerely
Kerry from Rimrock AZ.
Kerry, customer
Hi Eddie,
I have to say that your patience and customer service has been fantastic. Your a genius, finally found the issue. I took out 33-B and placed in a Sonic Cleaner, and perfect, everything is now working as expected. Thanks so much for your help, these things are a little tricky, but you are the man I have learnt all about the lantern by going through this process which is great.....

Thanks so much for your help and patience. Happy customer again :)

Thanking You

Beau
Beau, customer
Greetings Eddie,

A little follow-up on my sooty mantle issue. In my "early days" I just used kerosene for fuel and I don't remember much of a problem with sooty mantles, but I also paid more attention to what was going on - i.e., the lantern didn't run without me present. Gradually I have begun to use the lantern as a combo light source and mosquito repellent by mixing citronella oil in with whatever I was using, most like Jet Fuel A1. (Kerosene is obscenely priced in stores and unavailable in quantities less than 55 gallons here.) Getting older and lazier, I quit cutting the citronella with naphtha or kerosene just burning it straight for simplicity and maximum mosquito deterrence. The key thing that has changed is the fuel type.

Last night I burned out the rest of the citronella and everything was going well until the lantern ran out of fuel. Sooty mantle, but only about 70%. I used to let the lantern just run out without a problem, but of course the fuel was more conventional. I filled the lantern again with enough gasoline to just get it started to see if the mantle could be recovered. The mantle was bright and white in less than a minute. (I was actually surprised!) When the lantern ran out of fuel, the mantle remained white. Back to the way things seemed to be when kerosene was the only fuel I used.

So in my case, it seems to be mostly a matter of the fuel I was using. Obvious in retrospect, but for some reason not to me without your reminder. Also, I wish I had tried to restore of the previous mantle that had been completely soot covered with a tank of gasoline. I tried with the remaining citronella in the tank and that just was going to work. I suspect that the flame temperature of citronella is lower than gasoline or kerosene, but I can't find a reference resource on that subject that is truly authoritative.

Again, thanks for your help!

Regards,

Ted
Ted, customer
Hi Eddie,

The Permatex version of exhaust sealer (muffler mend) did the trick-lantern now burns flawlessly once warmed up and for hours on end (until it needs a few pumps, and/or, runs out of fuel).

Again, the upgraded part (Demo 117XL) makes a huge difference in light output. I think I'm just going to throw out the ceramic burner and tube (I'm not keen on the yellow light it produces).

Thanks Eddie for you tireless help and advice-you're a great asset to BriteLyt, and, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this companies products and parts to anyone that is into pressure lanterns.
9-7-15

Dave, customer
grew up using them in the Lebanese war during the 1980's at 13 I learned how to use the lanterns so did every one who grew up during the war . when I saw the website I had tears in my eyes . I know that sounds crazy but they were very dependable and give out the brightest light. Every night for 19 years , I've even published a book For the love of Beirut and the lantern was mentioned in the story. other companies are selling the cheep ones this is the real deal. Best quality and dependable if you want the cheep stuff look elsewhere :)
9-2-15
sam eloud, For The Love Of Beirut
Hi Eddie,

I just received and installed the Demo 117XL burner. Much whiter than the original Petromax ceramic burner and tube assy.. Can't look at it very long (unless I'm wearing a welders shield)!

Thanks very much for your advice and pointing in the right direction to get this. This is my third order with your outfit, and, I enjoy doing business with Brightlyte.

Thanks Again,
Dave

8-29-15
Dan, customer

Before you ask, I am in know way affiliated with this company or benefit in any way from there sale. I am posting this as information and personal experience on the best lantern I have ever personally used.

I bought my Britelyt this past year when I first started researching. I have absolutely loved everything about the lantern. The only real problem I have is that my wife loves it so much (she uses it as a decorative piece in our living room) she doesn't want me lighting it. I have to sneak it out to the garage to play with it while she's at work. The lantern is so heavily constructed, you could probably run it over with a tank & still "fire" it up. I bet I'll get close to 50 yrs out of this lantern . The Lantern can run on ANY fuel and kicks out close to 400 watts of light (more than enough to d__ near blind you and heat your room. I am willing to bet derrick picks up at least a dozen of these beauties to add to survival collection. Buy the reflector shield, it will drastically increase your lighting. Definitely purchase the BriteLyt EZ-Pump valve! This will makes pumping easier, and helps to prevent mantle breakage. With the EZ-pump valve, you can use a bicycle pump (hand or foot) or, with adapter, you can use the superflate CO2 cartridges system. The superflate can be purchased at most bicycle shop or on the web. Loved the new EZ cook top to. Thanks Matt
Matt, customer

Just got off the phone with the woman at Britelyt. She is the nicest person you would ever want to meet! We had a conversation about the products...! ordered the lantern and the stove top. I asked her about soot output and she said basically there was non-if preheated properly.
John, customer

Dear Eddie,

This is Tom the rescuer that works mount hood and Rainer mountain rescue, thank you for all your help today this is the first time I ever had a problem with my lamp it is used almost every day in the work I do there has been times I have used it 5 days strait other than to fuel it up and wear 20 thousand feet up and cold that’s at 40 below.

I have tried it all this is the only one when it comes to my life and others I have relied on it in my work.

There is a very little that at the extremes that will hold up to this stuff I think I have used it on over 20 rescues and they are usually 5 days or more all day and night if you folks need something that can handle it, all this is the lamp for you this ant for kids this is the best!

Thank you Tom!
Tom, customer
11/13/13

Britelyt, thank you! What a great lantern. I am now your biggest fan! My wife commented on it from the moment I pulled it out of the box. We are avid hunters but also preppers. I ordered two but will buy a couple of more after witnessing what your new 500 lantern can do first hand. It's brighter than my arc welder and just for fun we cooked venison sausage on top of it tonight with my EZcook. Delicious! If anyone is asking what they need to buy as necessary accesories please share my testimonial for the EZpump and the EZcook adapters. They are must haves. This is just an awesome product, I cannot thank you enough!
John
11/1/13

I just received my lantern and have to thank you for exceeding my expectations. The lantern is absolutely stunning! I have it set next to my Petromax and there is no comparison. It's quieter, brighter and believe it or not, looks like a much higher grade piece of equipment.

I will admit, I had a little difficulty lighting it for the first time but your technical service got me up and running. Turns out it was user error, not the lantern.

I really cannot thank you enough, I plan on buying a second one as a Christmas present for my son. Congratulations on such a great new product!

- Hugh D.
Hugh, Customer
10/17/13

I am writing to congratulate the Britelyt company on the new design and successful production run of the 829/500 cp lantern! I received delivery on October 10, 2013. Out of the box some relatives of mine commented on how aesthetically attractive the lantern looks. I agree. When people see it in passing they WILL comment on it! The build quality I would describe as heirloom.(I have some coleman stoves and lanterns from the 1940's. ) This is a welcome return to high quality items that are repaired rather than discarded. The light output is blinding! The you tube videos do not convey how much light this lantern puts out! Congratulations on a superior design and well built product.
Jim R
I endorse your products...both the lantern and the little survival stove. You may quote me: "I've purchased both the survival stove and the lantern from BriteLyt many years ago and both work perfectly. The mantles are very strong as I have only broken 3 in all that time. The two items are used on a routine schedule for wilderness survival tours and training and for night tactical classes. Several times, I forgot to bring kerosene with the classes and had to use other types of fuels--and some of these fuels are not mentioned in the instructions! They work great even with these field-expedient fuels. During one bivouac, a returning student asked me if a street lamp was installed in the woods. I informed him that I had hoisted the lantern with para-cord from the tree limbs! The entire campsite was immersed in white light--enough to read my lesson plans and for the students to take notes from. Make sure you purchase the shade so the light will shine down. These are finely made products that are not in the same league as lanterns purchased at Wal-mart. They are more expensive but they will not have to be replaced during a lifetime of hard use. I first got interested in these high quality lanterns while viewing a National Geographic episode where explorers in South America used them on their dug-out canoes. The indigenous people owned them because they are extremely durable. It did not make sense that we in America buy inferior products for just a season. Service? BriteLyt provides expert maintenance and parts supplies. Repairs? I would not know because my lanterns have have ZERO problems."
Ted A Sames II, SISS President
SISSTRAINING.COM
Ted, SISSTRAINING.COM
Thank you very much... got the parts day before yesterday... I have 2 old Aida lanterns that will be put back to use after many years of sitting....again thanks.. 7-19-2012

Steve, Customer
Eddie,
Then lantern is working great. Thanks for your help on the phone and the right parts. The lens on the pressure gauge showed up today as well and it is installed. Thanks so much for customer service that I only WISH I could find at other businesses where I have to spend hard earned cash.
Blessings
Brad
7-10-2012
Brad , Customer
Just had to contact you to say that your information on your pages is second to none. Even though I did not purchase my lamp from you (I have a Hippolito H-502) I have used you pages as reference, and the information is fantastic. You obviously have a real passion for what you do and I thought you should know that there are people out here that really appreciate what you are doing. Keep up the brilliant job you are doing a sterling job, and many many thanks for all the great information.
Regards from the UK Steve 4-1-2012
Steve, UK Steve
Merry Christmas!

Just a quick note to say that I've installed your replacement for the leather cup that came with my Wenzel. I bought the lantern from a gentlemen on Craig's list who had never unpacked it, and had had it for 10 years.

I love the Petromax design and the lantern, but it's weak point was the pressure pump. Properly oiled and with a new leather cup it still worked very poorly with a lot of loss of pressure with each pump.

Your part completely fixed that issue and made my Wenzel/Petromax clone a perfectly functional lantern that's a pleasure to use. You took an already brilliant design and improved on it. If the German engineer that designed the original was around, I'm sure he would say, "Gut Gemacht," (good job).
All the best,

Mike
Mike , Customer
I just ran my 500cp britelyt on a 4/5 mix of used motor oil and gasoline, and I am amazed at the performance. While the rapid preheat really doesn't work with the mix, and you have to use the alcohol tray, the lantern once running burns the black nasty mix with a perfect and hot blue flame, no smoke, and little odor. I finally understand all the hype about this lantern, and would definately give you guys five stars. Thank you britelyt, you have made a product that is worth what you pay for it. In an emergency situation, this lantern would be priceless to own, and if there is an apocalypse, it will most likely be more valuable than gold!

Sincerely,
N.
Nicholas, customer
My name is Steven R. Johnson of Layton Utah. In an age of sell and forget customer service it is refreshing to find a company like BriteLyt.

I had purchased two of the 500CP lanterns with multiples of the accessories for each. This amounted to a substantial investment in emergency lighting. After a couple years I finally had the opportunity to use my back up lantern. I planned on using it on a trip and I wanted to show it off to my friends on a camping trip.

I fueled it up at the camp site and put pressure in the tank. To my disappointment the main tank had a defective leak and fuel went everywhere.

I contacted customer service at BriteLyt and sent it in. Even though it was years after I bought it they went out of their way to fix it and make me a happy customer. I thank you BriteLyt. I will definitely purchase other items from you in the future.

Steven

July 25 2011

Layton, Utah
Steven, customer
We've been a week without electricity, thanks (no) to Hurricane Wilma. I am convinced that there are two essential things which separate people from the beasts in the jungle:

(1) Lighting at night.
(2) Hot showers.

So when is Britelyt going to come out with a kerosene home water heater??

Seriously, the Britelyt lantern is great. We run it every night. I highly, highly recommend that it be added to the list of important supplies for anyone who lives in an area prone to hurricanes or other loss of the normal comforts of civilization. Tom
Tom, customer
Eddie and Diana,

This is Frank in NC. Just wanted to let you guys know how much we really came to appreciate the BriteLyt over the past week. We were at the infamous, "ground 0" of the ice storm, power gone for 5 days. We had neighbors wondering how we had such bright lights on. It was the BriteLyt. Anyway, it is a world class product, and it's operating just like a champ.

Frank!
Frank!, customer
Eddie, got my lantern tonight and it fired up right away. Thank you very much! I appreciate doing business with someone that takes care of their customers.
I have the lantern burning in my living room and there is no odor, that is the reason I bought it.

Again, thank you and God bless! Johnny
Johnny , customer

Write testimonial